Organic Pearled Farro
Farro is the Italian name for ‘hulled’ wheat. The ancient strains of hulled wheat include spelt, emmer, and einkorn. These grains have a husky “hull” that must be removed to get the edible kernel on the inside. Farro “perlato”, refers to pearled wheat, whereby the tough bran coat has been polished to let water in during cooking and create a tender bite. Maine Grains pearled farro is made from spelt and still has some of its bran intact, giving the grain a roasted, nutty flavor while providing high fiber, protein and vital nutrients. Use like you would rice in pilaf, soups, and grain salads. Farro does contain gluten and is not suitable for those with celiac disease.